The Rickety Old Shack

The Project Hate MCMXCIX — When We Are Done, Your Flesh Will Be Ours

The Project Hate MCMXCIX - When We Are Done, Your Flesh Will Be Ours, cover

Between discovering the debut album from The Project Hate MCMXCIX, and the release of their follow-up to that record, I became somewhat acquainted with members of the band through their official forums. The combination of my obsession with CyberSonic SuperChrist, and the band's accessibility to fans like myself helped foment huge expectations of the next album. I wasn't sure how the quality of their debut would be matched, let alone exceeded — but I was stoked to hear them try.

In what would become a trend, When We Are Done, Your Flesh Will Be Ours outclassed the previous album and set a new quality standard going forward. One of the most immediately noticeable changes on this outing is the distinct production style of Mieszko Talaryczk (RIP), of Nasum. Gone was the reverb-heavy sound of the first album, replaced with a sharp guitars, and overall more polished and refined audio quality. As every sophomore album should, When We Are Done... felt like a significant upgrade over its predecessor; every aspect of The Project Hate is showcased and the improvements are impossible to miss.

Aside from a different producer, the material also benefited from collaborations with some great musicians like Peter Freed (2 Ton Predator) and an ever improving approach to song-writing. The tracks have gotten a little longer, but also more cohesive and refined From the opening growl of "I Smell Like Jesus... Dead," to the closing melodies of instrumental closer "Dividead." When We Are Done... presents over 50 minutes crushing death metal mixed industrial and symphonic elements, contrasting brutality and beauty in equal measure. Once again, Jörgen Sandström delivers another elite performance; the lack of overdubs on the album really highlight the sheer power he possesses as a vocalist. Likewise, Mia Ståhl once again provides a forelorn, haunting counter to the male lead.

Looking back, 16 years later, and When We Are Done... gets a loss less attention than I would have figured, back when it was released. The improvements over CyberSonic SuperChrist were incredible; where the debut record drew me in, the sophomore effort ensured my enduring loyality indefinitely. Unlike its predecessor, this album ages much better in terms of sheer audio quality; from When We Are Done... onward, The Project Hate maintained an exceptionally high standard of audio quality but this record was the biggest single leap on that front. At the time, I remember thinking that CyberSonic SuperChrist was effectively perfect — I cannot understate how much of an eye-opener this album was when it dropped. At that point, I learned to just Kenth Philipson and his musical vision, and so far that has worked out great.


In spite of getting lost in the mix, with so many other albums to choose from in the Project Hate discography. When We Are Done, Your Flesh Will Be Ours still holds up all these years later. In comparison to more recent efforts, this album still sounds somewhat minimalistic; the sonic layering is dense here, but nothing like albums such as There Is No Earth We Leave Unscorched, or Of Chaos And Carnal Pleasures. The whole record is excellent, but "Blessed Are We To Be Lied Upon" and "Disciples Of The Apocalypse," specifically, stand out prominently in my memory — even to this day.

Album Information

Release date: August 24th, 2001
Record label: Massacre / Pavement

Jörgen Sandström — vocals
Mia Ståhl — vocals
Kenth Philipson — guitars, bass, keyboards, programming
Peter S. Freed — additional guitar
Morgan Lundin — backing vocals

Track Listing

  1. I Smell Like Jesus... Dead
  2. Can't Wait
  3. Hellucination
  4. Believing Is Bleeding
  5. Hate Incarnate
  6. Forsaken By The Naked Light Of Day
  7. Blessed Are We To Be Lied Upon
  8. Disciples Of The Apocalypse
  9. In Sickness And In Hell
  10. Dividead

—by Derek

Published: December 11th, 2017