The Rickety Old Shack

The Project Hate MCMXCIX — The Lustrate Process

album cover

A decade removed from their inception, The Project Hate signed a deal with Vic Records and dropped their 6th studio album (or 7th, if you count Deadmarch: Initiation Of Blasphemy), The Lustrate Process. Despite being among the newer releases, this record often gets overlooked due to the size of the band's back catalogue and the overall quality of it. Still, this record was another offering that lived up to the high quality standard The Project Hate have maintained throughout their existence. Since making the switch to a live drummer on the previous album, In Hora Mortis Nostrae, there was no going back — The Lustrate Process affirms this. Lineup changes include a new drummer, Thomas Ohlsson, and a large list of contributors, but the core of the group remains the same — with Kenth Philipson masterminding the whole affair.

Every new album from The Project Hate showcases improvements to some facet of their song writing and trademarked sound, while remaining consistent with the fundamental aspects of their sound — you will never confuse this group with any other. On The Lustrate Process there is a tighter integration of the live drums throughout each track, and the material offers up the most balanced, tightly-woven mix of crushing metal and disparate other influences. The downtuned, percussive riffing is still present, but the material is also faster paced and feels more technical, likely due to the greater prevalence of lead guitar runs and a wealth of tasty solos. Vocally, every track still features the first rate death growls of Jörgen Sandström as he trades verses with Jo Enckell's haunting, clean singing. The material is distinct, but not very far removed from its predecessor — this album is very much an incremental update — but still manages to distinguish itself from the rest.

An impressive collection of guest contributors litter the album, long songs — giving such a wide array of guests ample room to provide meaningful contributions to the material — The Lustrate Process wastes no time. As expected, the vocals — both the growls and clean sections — deliver with the utmost intensity; Ms. Jo proves her immeasurable worth once again, keeping pace with an ever-evolving unit of first-rate musicians. Lord K and his vast syndicate of top-tier artists all turn in impeccable performances. Moments like the haunting vocals of Ms. Jo, laid over a churning bassline and somber piano, at 6:30 of "See The Filth Become Flames In This Furnace" are among my favourites, but this is only made possible by the rest of the track — the crushing rhythmic grooves and endless energy inherent to the material.

The production on albums from The Project Hate is always a treat, and The Lustrate Process perfectly nailed the group's sound. Sonically, this album feels like the realisation of everything up to this record. Somehow, despite tuning to F (or maybe even lower), the bass guitars still manage to remain prominent in the mix, giving a similar feeling to Korn without resembling their song-writing or structure whatsoever. The drums are crisp, clear and expertly played, and add a lot of little percussive nuances and fills that programmed drums, regardless of how proficient their sequencer, simply cannot. Overall, this record is excellent; like every other previous release, it's a great collection of songs, easily their best at the time, but it does not obsolete the back catalogue.


The final album to feature Ms. Jo handling the female lead vocals, and an excellent collection of material. The Lustrate Process marks the end of another era for The Project Hate. Perhaps overlooked in the big picture, when considering the band's whole discography, this album still very good — every track lives up to quality of past efforts. If one were to break up this project's releases into different eras, this would be end of the one — a glorious, violent, beautiful end. The closing track, "The Burial Of Gods" conveys this perfect, in trademarked TPH fashion; an exceptional album from beginning to end.

Album Information

Release date: July 6th, 2009
Record label: Vic Records

Jörgen Sandström — vocals
Jonna Enckell — vocals
Kenth Philipson — guitars, bass, keyboards, programming
Thomas Ohlsson — drums
Mike Wead — guitar solos
Pär Fransson — guitar solos
Henry Pyykkö — guitar solos
Martin van Drunen — backing vocals
Christian Älvestam — backing vocals
L.G. Petrov — backing vocals
Johan Hegg — backing vocals
Robban Eriksson — backing vocals

Track Listing

  1. Descend Into The Eternal Pits Of Possession
  2. You Come To Me Through Hell
  3. See The Filth Become Flames In This Furnace
  4. Our Wrath Will Rain Down From The Sky
  5. The Locust Principles
  6. Arise To His World Of Infamy
  7. The Burial Of The Gods

—by Derek

Published: April 30th, 2012

Edited: January 26th, 2018