The Rickety Old Shack

Daughters — You Won't Get What You Want

album cover

The fourth studio album from noise rock outfit Daughters dropped with little advance warning, but immediately garnered significant critical acclaim upon its reception. As I was completely unfamiliar with the project, or any of their past work, it took some time to truly dive into the contents of You Won't Get What You Want and make any sort of sense out of it. Signed to Mike Patton's Ipecac Recordings, it should come as no surprise that Daughters are extremely unconventional and, to be frank, weird as all Hell.

Opening with a long, somewhat droning track in "City Song," the listener is lulled into a false sense of security as the track meanders along, punctuated with semi-sedate vocal utterances. The following track, "Long Road No Turns" is more in line with the rest of the album, featuring groaning bass, discordant synths and samples backing a frantic vocal performance that perfectly straddles the line between frantic and angry without devolving into needless, incoherent shouting. None of the material on You Won't Get What You Want follows any sort of convention, as the band sees fit to do whatever they want, when they want. Everything has a coherence of its own, however; Daughters sound unlike anyone else, with the closest comparison I could muster being "if These Arms Are Snakes jammed with Fantomas." I don't even know if that's a helpful comparison, but it's all I've got.

Structurally, the songs meander and crawl all over the place; there is no easy verse / chorus / verse structure to this material. Songs run anywhere from 4 to 7 minutes, but the whole record feels like one very long piece of music. The first 3 tracks are an ongoing escalation of aggression, with the band busting out into frenetic blasts by the first few minutes of "The Flammable Man," and the band alternates between a mildly uncomfortable churn and outright fury. You Won't Get What You Want is somehow an incredibly uncomfortable record but also extremely intriguing — I kept feeling as though I shouldn't even like it and yet could not stop listening. Daughters manage to be weird and aggressive without rendering their music impenetrable or something one listens to more out of a sense of irony or masochism than actual enjoyment — something that 'noise' projects can often be guilty of.

I don't even really know who to recommend this album to, except those who consider themselves open-minded and adventurous. If you're into Mike Patton's weirder projects, or are already familiar with the Ipecac roster, then this is something you should absolutely enjoy. You Won't Get What You Want is an amazing blend of unconventional sounds anchored by impressively restrained and varied percussion. The grooves are mesmerising, while the furious breakdowns expertly punctuate the growing feeling of anxiety much of the record conveys. It takes multiple listens to truly acclimate to what Daughters are doing, but I would easily say it's time well-spent. This isn't an album for everybody, but you'll know very quickly whether you're one of those people or not.


Almost impossible to fully describe, Daughters' fourth full-length album is one of the year's most impressive releases. You Won't Get What You Want is a 49-minute opus, bombarding the listener with unconventionally compelling music and similarly unsettling-yet-engaging vocals. Nothing about this project should work, in theory, and yet here we are. While this record has exactly zero potential for mainstream success — which clearly isn't something the band strives for — it's a boon to fans of experimental music. For those with a sense of musical adventure, I cannot recommend this album highly enough.

Album Information

Release date: October 26th, 2018
Record label: Ipecac Recordings

Alexis SF Marshall — vocals
Nicholas Andrew Sadler — guitar
Samuel Walker — bass
Jon Syverson — drums

Track Listing

  1. City Song
  2. Long Road No Turns
  3. Satan In The Wait
  4. The Flammable Man
  5. The Lords Song
  6. Less Sex
  7. Daughter
  8. The Reason They Hate Me
  9. Ocean Song
  10. Guest House


—by Derek

Published: December 6th, 2018.